Nurses Pinning Ceremony, Transfer Students and EOPS Reception

By cmsiegenthaler
September 15th, 2016 - 11:41am

After two years of rigorous study, 38 students in the Registered Nursing (RN) Program stood for their Pinning Ceremony, an annual celebration of students’ accomplishments and readiness to sit for the national licensing exam.

The ceremony began with an introduction by Dean of Health Sciences Marshall Alameida, PhD, RN, CNS. and featured two student speakers, Elizabeth Brett and Mathew Hinkle. The keynote address was given by Linda Wright, FNP, RN, from the Prima Medical Group of Greenbrae and Novato.

Hundreds of families, friends, and alumni  attended the pinning ceremony to celebrate the class of 2016 graduates. More than 2,000 COM students have completed two-year nursing associate degrees since the program began in 1965. Graduates, who have trained in hospitals, clinics, and other health care facilities, are headed for a variety of jobs; others will transfer to a university and continue their education.

On May 13th the Transfer and Career Center hosted the Transfer Recognition Reception to honor and recognize our students who are transferring on to four-year institutions. The evening began with a formal ceremony at 5:30 p.m. to celebrate the students’ achievements and success. At the conclusion of the ceremony, students, their guests, and College of Marin faculty and staff enjoyed a catered reception.  COM has the distinction of sending more transfer students to UC Berkeley than any other community college in the state.

The EOPS and CalWORKs Awards Ceremony took place in the lobby of the Performing Arts Building. This is the second year the ceremony has been held, and over 70 faculty, staff, students, and their families enjoyed dinner in the courtyard followed by the awards ceremony. The two student speakers, Mitchell Roberts andAto Houston, both gave inspiring speeches. More than 20 students were honored for graduating, transferring, or completing a certificate. Thanks to generous donations by ESCOM, Follett, and community and staff members, thirteen students were awarded $500 scholarships.